Archive A Segment

You can clean up your list of segments without deleting them by archiving unused segments.

About this task

Archiving segments allows to unclutter the segments list in the rest of the platform. Sometimes you don't want to lose the criteria of a particular segment that you're only running one time, but you still want to hide them from the segments lists. This can be especially helpful when it comes to selecting a segment when you are scheduling a delivery or setting up a workflow.

When you archive a segment, it is removed from the list of segments and it stops being updated. It is also removed from the list of segments in workflows and deliveries. If you try to archive a segment that is tied to a workflow or delivery, you will get an error message. You also need to make sure that the segment you are archiving is not tied to an API or to any dynamic content in a message.

To archive a segment:

Procedure

  1. Go to Contacts > Segments.
  2. Select the segment or segments you want to archive.
  3. Click the Archive button.
    Note: After you archive a segment, you cannot perform certain actions, including:
    • viewing the contact membership
    • creating a list from the contacts that are on that segment
    • viewing the count of the contacts on that archived segment