Adjust Cart Recovery App Settings

The Cart Recovery app allows you to identify and capture contacts that have placed items in the shopping cart without completing their order, including cart details.

About this task

Using this data you can trigger personalized messages, add cart and order data into messages, and create segments.

The Settings page in the Cart Recovery app allows you to configure the time frames and behaviors that determine when a shopping cart is abandoned. You can set shopping cart abandonment to be based on the amount of time that has passed after a contact has left your site and/or the amount of time that has passed since the last item was added to a cart. When a shopping cart meets the criteria you specify on this page, data about that cart is sent back to Bronto.

Note: In order to pass shopping cart data back to Bronto , you need to have the Storefront Settings configured on the Commerce page and the Embed Code added to each page on your commerce site. For more information on how to do this, see Commerce Settings.

To configure the Cart Recovery app settings:

Procedure

  1. Go to Automation > Cart Recovery.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. To set cart abandonment to be based on the amount of time that passes after a contact has left your website after leaving items in a cart:
    1. Click the checkbox next to A cart is abandoned if there has been no activity for X time.
    2. Click on X time and set the length of time you want to pass the cart is considered abandoned.

      You can choose to set an amount of time in minutes, hours, or days. We recommend setting this to 15 minutes.

  4. To set cart abandonment to be based on the amount of time that passes after the last item was added to a contact's cart:
    1. Click the checkbox next to A cart is abandoned if there has been no update to the cart for X time.
    2. Click on X time and set the length of time you want to pass before the cart is considered abandoned.

      You can choose to set an amount of time in minutes, hours, or days. We recommend setting this to 30 minutes.

  5. Click Save Changes.