Non-Engaged Series Workflow Template

The Non-Engaged Series workflow template allows you to try to convert non-engaged contacts through a two-message series. Contacts who do not engage after the second message in the series are unsubscribed.

About this task

The Non-Engaged Series workflow template is triggered when contacts are added to a specific segment. This workflow is used to target contacts on a segment that identifies contacts who have no recent history of opens or clicks. You'll use the settings for the segment to identify these contacts. When contacts enter this workflow they are sent a message that encourages engagement. This could be in the form of offering a discount or using phrasing that indicates the message is a final notice. Any contacts who don't engage with the first message within a delay period are sent a second message. If contacts do not engage with either the first or second message they are unsubscribed. This keeps you from spending valuable resources on contacts who do not offer a return on your investment. Unsubscribed contacts can be resubscribed at any time.

Before you use the Non-Engaged Series workflow template you need to:
Note: The node labels in this template have been renamed to help guide you through the template. To see which nodes were used, mouse over the node label. You can also edit any of these custom labels.

What you need to do:

Procedure

  1. Go to Automation > Workflows.
  2. Copy the Non-Engaged Series template:
    1. In the Template Workflows section, select the box for Non-Engaged Series.
    2. Click Copy.

      A window appears asking if you are sure you want to copy the template.

    3. Click Copy.
  3. In the Your Workflows list, click on the name of the copy you made.

    The copy of the template opens in the workflow builder.

  4. To edit the name and/or description of the workflow:
    1. Click on the workflow name, located above the workflow builder.
    2. Enter a new name in the Name box.
    3. Enter a new description in the Description box.
    4. Click Ok.
  5. In the Use Segment Template for "Non-Engaged Subscribers" node, indicate what segment you want to use to trigger the workflow:
    1. Click a segment located in the node text.
    2. Click on the name of the segment you want to use.
    3. Click Select.
  6. In the Remove Non-Engaged from 'Master List' node:
    1. Click a specific list.
    2. Click on the master list you set up for your contacts then click Select.

      It is possible that you may not have set up a master list for your contacts. If this is the case, then you do not need to use this node.

    This node prevents the contact from receiving other marketing messages from you while they are in this workflow.

  7. In the Send Re-engagement Message #1 node, select the email message that will be sent to the contact:
    1. Click an email message in the node text, click the name of the email message you want to send, then click Select.
    2. Click a name in the node text, enter the from name to be used for the email message in the From Name text box, then click Done.

      If you already see the correct name here you can skip this step.

    3. Click email address in the node text, enter the email address to be used for the message in the Email Address text box, then click Done.

      If you already see your email address here you can skip this step.

    4. Click the bold text on for Sender authentication if you wish to disable this feature.
    5. Click the bold text off for Reply Tracking and/or Frequency cap overrides if you wish to enable either of these features.

      For more information about frequency caps see Set Email Frequency Caps For Your Account.

  8. In the Give Contact 2 Weeks to Open or Engage node click 14 days if you want to change the length of time a contact has to engage with the first message. If you clicked 14 days:
    1. Select a new unit of time from the Days list, enter a new number in the Wait for box, and click Done.
    2. Click the pencil icon in the heading of the node, update the label to reflect the new delay, and click OK.
  9. In the Is Contact Still on Non-Engaged Subscriber Segment? node, use segment membership to verify whether contacts have engaged with the first message:

    Your segment settings will move a contact off of the non-engaged contact segment if/when the contact engages with a message. Contacts who have engaged with the first message in the series are moved back onto your master list and removed from the workflow.

    1. Click a segment located in the node text.
    2. Click on the name of the segment you want to use.
    3. Click Select.
  10. In the If Contact Still Non-Engaged, Send Message #2 node, select the email message that will be sent to the contact:
    1. Click an email message in the node text, click the name of the email message you want to send, then click Select.
    2. Click a name in the node text, enter the from name to be used for the email message in the From Name text box, then click Done.

      If you already see the correct name here you can skip this step.

    3. Click email address in the node text, enter the email address to be used for the message in the Email Address text box, then click Done.

      If you already see your email address here you can skip this step.

    4. Click the bold text on for Sender authentication if you wish to disable this feature.
    5. Click the bold text off for Reply Tracking and/or Frequency cap overrides if you wish to enable either of these features.

      For more information about frequency caps see Set Email Frequency Caps For Your Account.

  11. In the Give Contact Another 2 Weeks to Open Message #2 node click 14 days if you want to change the length of time a contact has to engage with the second message. If you clicked 14 days:
    1. Select a new unit of time from the Days list, enter a new number in the Wait for box, and click Done.
    2. Click the pencil icon in the heading of the node, update the label to reflect the new delay, and click OK.
  12. In the second Is Contact Still on Non-Engaged Subscriber Segment? node, use segment membership to verify whether contacts have engaged with the second message:

    Your segment settings will move a contact off of the non-engaged contact segment if/when the contact engages with a message. Contacts who have engaged with the second message in the series are moved back onto your master list. Contacts who have not engaged are unsubscribed.

    1. Click a segment located in the node text.
    2. Click on the name of the segment you want to use.
    3. Click Select.
  13. You cannot change the If Still Unengaged, Unsubscribe Contact node.

    This node will unsubscribe contacts who have failed to engage with either of the messages sent in this series.

  14. Optional: If you want to expand the workflow to send additional emails:
    1. Add the appropriate Delay, Segment Membership, and Send Email nodes to the canvas.
    2. Adjust the settings for those nodes.
    3. Connect the nodes to the workflow.

      The If Still Unengaged, Unsubscribe Contact node must remain the last node in the workflow.

  15. Click Save Changes.
  16. If you are ready to start using your workflow, click the Inactive toggle to activate the workflow.

    The workflow starts working immediately after it is activated, so only do this when you want to start sending messages to contacts.