Double Opt-in Workflow Template

The Double Opt-in workflow template allows you to identify and send a message to unconfirmed contacts. If a contact does not opt-in after receiving a message, they will be unsubscribed.

About this task

The Double Opt-in workflow template is triggered when contacts are added with the status of unconfirmed or an existing contact is assigned the unconfirmed status. The contact is then added to a list that you will use settings to assign. The contact will then temporarily be added to a double opt-in list and sent a subscription confirmation message. if the customer does not respond, they will be assigned a status of unsubscribed. If the contact responds, they will be removed from the double opt-in list. You can edit the workflow's contact throttling by clicking the contact throttling setting in the workflow builder.

Before you use the Double Opt-in workflow template you need to:
  • Create the master list
  • Create the double opt-in list
  • Create a subscription confirmation message
  • Create an opt-in form
Note: The node labels in this template have been renamed to help guide you through the template. To see which nodes were used, mouse over the node label. You can also edit any of these custom labels.

What you need to do:

Procedure

  1. Go to Automation > Workflows.
  2. Copy the Double Opt-in workflow template:
    1. In the Template Workflows section, select the box for Double Opt-in.
    2. Click Copy.

      A window appears asking if you are sure you want to copy the template.

    3. Click Copy.
  3. In the Your Workflows list, click on the name of the copy you made.

    The copy of the template opens in the workflow builder.

  4. To edit the name and/or description of the workflow:
    1. Click on the workflow name, located above the workflow builder.
    2. Enter a new name in the Name box.
    3. Enter a new description in the Description box.
    4. Click Ok.
  5. In the Add Contacts to 'Master List' node, indicate the list that all contacts should be added to:
    1. Click a specific list located in the node text.
    2. Click on the name of the list you want to use.
    3. Click Select.
  6. In the Temporarily Add to 'Double Opt-in' List node, indicate the list that contacts going through the double opt-in process should be added to:
    1. Click a specific list located in the node text.
    2. Click on the name of the list you want to use.
    3. Click Select.
  7. In the Send Subscription Confirmation Message node, select the first email message that will be sent to the contact:

    The message should include a confirm_url link in both the html and text versions.

    1. Click an email message in the node text, click the name of the email message you want to send, then click Select.
    2. Click a name in the node text, enter the from name to be used for the email message in the From Name text box, then click Done.

      If you already see the correct name here you can skip this step.

    3. Click email address in the node text, enter the email address to be used for the message in the Email Address text box, then click Done.

      If you already see your email address here you can skip this step.

    4. Click the bold text on for Sender authentication if you wish to disable this feature.
    5. Click the bold text off for Reply Tracking and/or Frequency cap overrides if you wish to enable either of these features.

      For more information about frequency caps see Set Email Frequency Caps For Your Account.

  8. In the Wait 4 Days for Cust to View Confirmation Webform node, click a webform to select the subscription confirmation webform your contacts should use.
  9. In the Wait 4 Days for Cust to View Confirmation Webform node, click 4 days if you want to change the length of time a contact has to place an order. Only if you clicked 4 days:
    1. Select a new unit of time from the Days list, enter a new number in the Wait for box, and click Done.
    2. Click the pencil icon in the heading of the node, update the label to reflect the new delay, and click OK.
  10. Optional: If you want to expand the workflow to send additional emails:
    1. Add the appropriate Delay, Contact Field Comparison, and Send Email nodes to the canvas.
    2. Adjust the settings for those nodes.
    3. Connect the nodes to the workflow.
  11. Click Save Changes.
  12. If you are ready to start using your workflow, click the Inactive toggle to activate the workflow.

    The workflow starts working immediately after it is activated, so only do this when you want to start sending messages to contacts.