Edit The Contact Throttling Settings In A Workflow

The contact throttling settings in a workflow allow you to adjust how many times a contact can enter a workflow.

About this task

When this is set it only applies to the current workflow. If a contact is on multiple workflows this will not impact their eligibility for any other workflows.

Workflow Contact Throttling Settings

To edit the contact throttling settings for a workflow:

Procedure

  1. Go to Automation > Workflows.
  2. Click either
    • On the name of a workflow to edit an existing workflow
    • Or Create New Workflow to create a new workflow.
  3. Click the button next to the text Contact Throttling.
  4. The available contact throttling settings are shown at the bottom of the pop-up. You can select:
    • Allow contacts to enter the workflow an unlimited number of times, even if the contact is already on the workflow.
    • Do not allow any additional contacts into the workflow. All contacts currently progressing through the workflow will continue to completion.
    • Limit the number of times a contact may simultaneously be on this workflow to X number of time(s).
    • Limit the number of times a contact may enter the workflow to X number of time(s) in a given time frame.
  5. If you selected Limit the number of times a contact may simultaneously be on this workflow to X number of time(s) or Limit the number of times a contact may enter the workflow to X number of time(s) in a given time frame:
    1. Click a number of times
    2. Add a number in the text box.
  6. If you selected Limit the number of times a contact may enter the workflow to X number of time(s) in a given time frame:
    1. Click a number of time frame(s)
    2. Select one of the following from the pull-down menu:
      • Minutes
      • Hours
      • Days
      • Weeks
      • Months
      • Years
  7. Click Save Changes.