Deleting a Custom Product Field

About this task

Before you import data associated with a custom field, you can delete the custom field and create a new custom field with the same name. You may want to do this if you created a custom field with the wrong data type associated with it.

You can still delete a custom field after it is mapped and imported data has been associated with it. However, you will not be able to create a new custom field with the same name until after the next file import completed. When you delete a mapped custom field that has associated data, the field and its data is deleted during the next file import. Deleting a field could break messages that use the field, so make sure the field isn't used in marketing campaigns before it is deleted.

Procedure

  1. Go to Commerce > Products.
  2. Click View Product Fields
  3. Locate your custom field in the Product Fields list and click the Delete button.
    The Delete button is Delete Button located to the far right in the custom field's row.
  4. Click OK.