Configure Browse Recovery Rules Global Settings

In order for Browse Recovery rules to send emails, you will need to configure the sending options to use for your messages. These settings are applied to all three Browse Recovery rules.

About this task

There are two types of global settings you will need to configure:
  • The time-based settings that determine when emails are sent to contacts.
  • Your sender options. This is the same as the sender options you would configure when you schedule an email.

To configure the global settings for your Browse Recovery rules:

Procedure

  1. Go to Automation > Browse Recovery.
  2. Click the Rules tab and then click Settings button.
  3. Set the time delays:
    1. Set Evaluate rules X hours after last page view to the number of hours you want to pass before the contact's browse history is evaluated.
      Note: This setting is also saved to your Script Manager settings. It cannot be changed on the Script Manager page.

      The clock begins when the contacts last interaction with the site is recorded. Once the Rule Evaluation Time Delay has passed, a contact will be evaluated and sent an email if they meet the all of the settings and criteria for a rule.

    2. Set Do not send the same rule within X days to the number of days you want to pass before a contact can be sent an email using any of the rules after the last email was sent using Browse Recovery.

      In this case, even if the contact meets the criteria for a rule they will not be sent a new message if it is within the Customer Eligibility Time Delay period, no matter which rule was used when the last message was sent.

    3. Set Allow sending again after X days to the number of days you want to pass before a contact can be sent an email using the same rule.

      For example, if a contact was sent an email using the Product Threshold rule, they will not be sent another email with this rule before this number of days pass. However, the contact can still be sent an email using one of the other rules so you should make sure this setting is fewer days than Do not send the same rule within X days. This lets Browse Recovery send messages that are triggered by other rules and keeps a contact from receiving repetitive email due to the same rule.

  4. Configure your sender options:

    Browse Recovery automatically sends messages based on a contact meeting the criteria defined for a rule, so you will need to provide the sender options here instead of on the Send Message page. You need to provide sender options here even if you have set up default sender options for the platform.

    1. Enter a From Name.

      The from name, also called an alias, is the name that appears to the recipient of the email message.

    2. Enter a From Email.

      The from address is the email address that your email message will appear from.

    3. Enter a Return Name.

      The reply address is the address that the application will forward email replies to.

    4. Select Sender Authentication if you want to sign your email message with DomainKeys/DKIM.
    5. Select Reply Tracking if you want to store a copy of all email replies to your email messages on the Email Replies page.
    6. Select Fatigue Override if you want to Browse Recovery to send email to a contact even when it would exceed the email frequency cap you designated for your contacts.

      Email frequency caps allow you to specify the maximum number of emails that can be sent to your contacts over given time periods. Because Browse Recovery sends emails to contacts based on their behavior, you might want to override the frequency cap setting so that revenue opportunities aren't lost due to the contact already meeting the cap due to regularly scheduled marketing messages.

    7. If you want Browse Recovery to be able to send a contact an email while they still have a page on your site open, select Allow Sending when Browser Idle.

      This allows you to contact someone if they've left the page open in a tab or window and "forgot" about it. However, it could seem intrusive to receive an email while still on a site, so this option is turned off by default.

  5. Click Save.