When should I use the suppression list?

The suppression list is not the same as the unsubscribed contact status and should be used sparingly and only under certain circumstances. Under most scenarios, it is preferable to exclude contacts from an individual message or from all messages using the unsubscribed status instead of adding a contact or domain to the suppression list.

This suppression list contains contacts and domains that you never ever want to message again from your Bronto account.

When an email address is added to the suppression list, you will not be able to:
  • Send any messages to this contact, including transactional messages.
  • Import this email address as part of a contact import.
  • Manually add a contact with this email address to your account.

Only Bronto users can add contacts to a suppression list. A contact cannot add themselves to the suppression list. When a contact unsubscribes from mailings, they will not be added to the suppression list. Instead, that contact will have their contact status updated to Unsubscribed. In addition, that contact will always have the option of signing up for a list again and updating their contact status to Active. In contrast, if a contact on the suppression list tries to resubscribe your email list, they will not be able to do so.

There are only a few situations when adding a contact to the suppression list is the best option. For example, you may want to avoid messaging competitor email addresses or if you may want to never message a contact again after receiving a cease and desist request. Another scenario when you would want to add a contact to the suppression list is if there is the possibility that sending to the contact will damage your sending reputation.

Unlike with an unsubscribed contact, a contact cannot remove themselves from a suppression list. Instead, only Bronto users can delete a contact from the suppression list.

You can view your suppression list at Settings > Platform Settings > Suppression List.